One Week Out….

So you might ask, what’s it like being post op?  I can sum it up in one word.

ImageBored Shitless.

I know, that’s two words, but in my head its one long word.

I usually only work 2 days a week, so I’m used to being home doing nothing, but that’s because I choose to do nothing.  Now I have to do nothing.  there’s a big difference.

I can honestly say, I’m missing hubby.  I know when he was home all the time he was a little bit of a nana, but he loves me and wants me to recover quickly.  I get that.

Things I miss when he’s not here:

Him asking me if I’m OK.  Him getting me a drink or my pillow.  Little chats (mostly I talk and he stares at the TV, but at least he’s in the same room as me and he smiles appropriately at the funny things I say).  I guess I just miss him.

Well, that’s enough of me being mooshy!

where was I?  ah… I’m now 10 days post op.  I’ve endured a chest infection, which I am glad to say I’m almost over.  I have been blessed with a dose of thrush (thanks to the anti-biotics), for which I took into my own hands and took an oral thrush treatment, which has given me the squirts!  In hindsight I probably should have called my surgeon, but you know.. its thrush!  Who hasn’t dealt with that before?  Granted, I’ve never dealt with it after a hysterectomy.. hmmm.. perhaps I might call him today and just fill him in.. O.o

Today, I must admit I do feel better.. perhaps I’ve turned the corner from all that itchy, squirty mess I got myself into.  Phalanges crossed people!

Now I just have to get my head around taking it oh so easy.  I must admit a couple of days ago I did a lot of walking around and sort of pottering.. and I have paid for it.  Quite sore in the old belly region.  I’ve finally removed those blue bandaids.  3 tiny quarter inch scars (no stitches) remain.  I’m sort of swollen.. I say sort of because I have a bit of a belly anyway.  I asked my hubby if it looked any bigger… he couldn’t answer me because he was laughing.  God love him.

I’m tempted to have a bit of a poke around, but then again.. maybe not just yet….. its my natural curiosity.  At some point it will get the better of me.

Not yet.

Anyway, that’s all for now.

Oh!  wait!  I’ve lost 3kg !  That’s news… I was hoping for 7 or 8, but hey.. 3 is good!

I go back to see the surgeon in another 5 weeks.  No work until I get the all clear.  Part of me really doesn’t want to go back at all.  I’m retiring next March, but right now?  I’m thinking June would be a lovely month to retire in…..

OK.. now I’m really done.

Thanks for putting up with my overly descriptive blurts about my bits.

About Juuls

50(mumbles) Daughter, Wife, Mother, Frustrated writer, Doer of not much if I can help it. I am NOT a morning person. Short attention spa OOH! Kittens!! I jiggle, therefore I am.
This entry was posted in Humour, Life, My Life, Uncategorized, womens health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Week Out….

  1. sherynw says:

    You make me laugh! I’m glad you’re getting better. Have you tried yoghurt to combat the antibiotics? Even, (whisper) down there?

G'day! Don't be shy... say something...

