Life Rolls Along

Life is rolling along at a snails pace these days.  Work sucks, so what’s new.  Being disappointed by people daily seems to be a regular occurrence, but humans are notorious for letting others down on occasions.  I’ve probably done it myself, a hundred times over.

On the positive side, we’ve finally booked our very first overseas holiday!

Next year we will be heading off to the USA!

I’m somewhat obsessed with the good ol US of A for some reason and have nagged and badgered hubby for years.  Of course illness and surgeries have forced us to postpone it several times .. err, actually it hadn’t really been planned before, only in my head, and hubby wasn’t really onboard, but I persisted.

Anyway, the penny finally dropped.   Sadly we have a couple of friends who have been diagnosed with cancer and another who suffered horrific injuries in a car accident, and that finally made hubby look at life as a very tenuous thing.  You never know what’s around the corner.  And to think that we have been around on this earth for over 50 years and never really done anything for ourselves?  Well, he finally agreed to the trip.

We have poured our hearts and souls into our family.  We’ve never had a lot, we’ve made do, gotten by,  We’ve made sure our boys had everything they needed, not always what they wanted, but you know how it is.  We did our best.  We just have never really done anything for just us.

So now is our time.  Mid fifties (Fucking Awesome Fifties I like to think) and relatively healthy (at this point, that’s good enough) and rearing to go and see something of this amazing world we live in.    I hope it will be the first of a few overseas trips, but we’ll see how this one goes.

Hubs is a nervous flyer.. which is awesome considering how many flights we are going to be making.  Flight to US, 13 cities – flying between 11 of them – flight to Hawaii – flight home.  Eight glorious weeks of just me and him, him and me….. he’s terrified of that too by the way.

I’m a bit of a handful.  If I get excited about something, the whole world hears me.  I have no filter when it comes to laughing or pointing.  Personally I have no problem with being the loudest laugher in the room.  My mother often points out to me that I was born without an embarrassment gland.   I don’t care what people think of me.  I yam who I yam as a perky little sailor once said!

Image

Anyway, we booked the flights.  Hubs face when he had to actually pay for them was priceless. Getting his short arms to reach into his long pockets?   I’m trying to think of something to give you an idea of his face…

Image  yep..that’s about right…

I imagine this will be twofold come time for payment for the hotels/sightseeing/transfers etc.  I might just try to take a sneaky selfie of him, which actually isn’t a selfie, more of a yousie.. but you know what I’m talking about.

Its really exciting planning a holiday, but at the same time, I’m terrified!  Never having travelled, we couldn’t have jumped off a higher ledge if we tried, but you know what?  It will be worth every cent, every emotion, every minute.

We’re going to be celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary while we are away.  Actually the first week in Vegas, we are going to renew our vows on our actual anniversary in the Elvis Chapel by an Elvis impersonator,  so that’s pretty cool.  Of course, me being me, it won’t be some nice sweet thing.  I plan to be wearing leather jackets, jeans, Tshirts with something either witty or crude on them (haven’t made up my mind yet) and if I can find them blue suede boots/shoes.   I have chosen Little Less Conversation, Little More Action as my wedding song.  I shall be dancing down the aisle!   Hahaha!

I should also point out that neither of us are Elvis fans, but hey, it’s VEGAS!  ahhh, I’m such an idiot.   Plus, I plan to have it live streamed, despite hubs telling me not to.. What’s he going to do?  Unmarry me?  wait…. its Vegas.  He probably could!  hahaha!  Oh well…

It’s happening…….

I will of course be blogging about it.  of course I will…  I just need to work out how.  I’m thinking I might buy a tablet over there and do it via that.   We’ll work it out.

I’m EXCITED!

About Juuls

50(mumbles) Daughter, Wife, Mother, Frustrated writer, Doer of not much if I can help it. I am NOT a morning person. Short attention spa OOH! Kittens!! I jiggle, therefore I am.
This entry was posted in Humour, Life, My Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Rolls Along

  1. I hope you enjoy your visit when you come. The vow renewal ceremony sounds completely you even though you aren’t big Elvis fans. I mean that I can totally see this.

G'day! Don't be shy... say something...

