30 DAY CHALLENGE – Day One

So a friend of mine is doing this challenge on her blog, so I decided, why not do it too?  We’re opposite ends of the scale in a lot of things.  It might be fun to compare our answers.  so here it goes…

get-to-know-me

1.  Discuss your current relationship

OK, so I’ve been married for over 30 years now, and I’ve been living with hubby for nearly 34 years.  We celebrated our 30th in March.  St Patricks Day, to be precise.  I say this instead of the date, mostly because it’s the only way that hubby can remember the day.  Lucky me I suppose.  Imagine if it was March 19th.  He’d never have a clue when our anniversary was!

Our relationship has been full of ups and downs.  Like most long term marriages.  But, thankfully, the good have actually outweighed the bad.  We went through the mythical 7 year itch, at least 4 times.   Between years 18 and 24, things were pretty shit.  We were sort of living separate lives, totally disjointed and disconnected from each other.

The deaths of three of our parents changed it.  My father on the 14th June 2007, his father on 11 June 2008, his mother on 12 June 2009.  You couldn’t plan this if you tried.  I suppose its good because its one weekend and its over with and I don’t have to think about it for the rest of the year.  Truth be told, I really don’t think about it at all.  But that’s another story about me.

After this, both of us plunged into a sort of depression of our own, but funnily enough, when I emerged, it was kind of like a butterfly breaking out of its cocoon.  I realised that I was actually more than just a daughter, wife, mother, sister.  I was my own person.  And with that I decided to simply be who I wanted to be.  That’s when hubby told me he had fallen in love with me again.  He loved this weird, quirky, slightly chubby woman who laughs way too loud, tells shocking jokes and drinks just enough to get merrily even louder.

Things have been fantastic ever since.  He has been there for me during some health issues I had over the last five years, and frankly I probably wouldn’t have coped at all without him.  He literally looked after me, the house, the kids, the dog, the cats and worked full time.  He was a bloody gun!

We have settled into this happy, contented place that we call us, and I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

About Juuls

50(mumbles) Daughter, Wife, Mother, Frustrated writer, Doer of not much if I can help it. I am NOT a morning person. Short attention spa OOH! Kittens!! I jiggle, therefore I am.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Humour, Life, My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.