30 DAY CHALLENGE – DAY EIGHT

get-to-know-me

Day 8  A MOMENT YOU FELT THE MOST SATISFIED WITH YOUR LIFE

(I posted this a day late, because my wordpress wasn’t letting me do a new post)

Honestly, I have never felt more satisfied than the day I retired.  I had worked at the same place for nine years.  The first sever were pretty good, the last two, not so much.

I think with my health issues, surgery, and a general change of the feeling at the place, just made me hate getting up and going there.  Nothing to do with the people.   They were great, but the actual job I did, just became a chore.  I would have left a year earlier, but I stayed because my hubby asked me to, and because we were going overseas for the first time, and frankly the money would come in handy.

So I stayed for that last year.  Now, I have to point out, I only worked 2 days a week, but they were 10 hour days.  They were long, and tedious, and frankly I was becoming bored with what I was doing.  I loathe accounts and I don’t mean I don’t like them.  I absolutely, unequivocally HATE doing accounts.  So that, combined with idiots ringing up and abusing me constantly.  I’d had it.

Many people asked me why I didn’t stay for another year and get long service leave.  Well a couple of reasons.  1) I was casual, so it really wouldn’t make that much difference money wise.  There was no leave involved, so it wasn’t worth it.  and 2) I began hating going there, and resenting my husband for making me, and resenting the fact that I felt trapped.  They also tried to say that I should keep working because I’d miss the money.

What money?  You get paid peanuts, you really don’t miss it.  And I don’t.  I am not a person who needs “things”.  I don’t care about the latest this or that.  I don’t need clothes and shoes every season.  I don’t need to change my furniture every couple of years.  None of that matters to me.  What matters to me is being happy.  And I wasn’t.

So my last day there, was absolutely, one of the most satisfying moments of my life.

About Juuls

50(mumbles) Daughter, Wife, Mother, Frustrated writer, Doer of not much if I can help it. I am NOT a morning person. Short attention spa OOH! Kittens!! I jiggle, therefore I am.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Family, Humour, Life, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.