MY GREEN THUMB – ENTRY 3

Well, it’s been three weeks since I started this project.  And two weeks since I planted my first garden bed.

Things are coming along OK.  They’re definitely growing.  So that’s a plus.

Week 1      Week 2  

I am now, having my first wave of pests.  

They’re called white fly.
They are loving my parsley.  Every day I go out and swoosh my hand through the plant and hundreds of teensy tiny white moths fly up into the air.

So, we had a container of plant insect treatment in the laundry,so I’ve treated the garden three times but I also think I may have burnt some of the leaves  of the tomato plant.  I don’t know for sure, but its not tragic and on the plus side, there were no white fly this morning!  AND….

I’ve got flowers and buds!!   Now all I have to hope is that they flourish!

      

I think I may have made a mistake with the basil, It came in a container and I just tipped it out and planted it as it was.  In a big clump.  Now I think, maybe, I was supposed to split them up and spread them out… meh.  I’ll give it another week and then maybe I’ll thin them out a bit.

But its nice, you know?  Going outside in the morning sun, glass of hot lemon water in my hand (that’s my new “thing”) and seeing how my garden grows.

Our dog Bo is interested.  He stands next to me and sniffs the plants.   As long as he doesn’t get any ideas when the tomatoes start fruiting.  He loves tomatoes!

We have our first really hot day tomorrow, 37C  (that’s about 98F)  I went out yesterday and bought a cheap gazebo to place over the bigger garden bed.  I’m scared they will get fried in that sun.  Hubby has set up another tarp to shade the smaller garden bed.  So they should survive the heat.  Thankfully it drops back down to 27C on the weekend.

   So this is as far as I got putting the gazebo together.  Upon reading the instructions it says  “use four people to safely erect gazebo”.  Four?  kidding, right?  sigh.  Hubby and I will struggle when he gets home from work, but I’m pretty sure we will get it up with a minimum of arguments.  🙂

Well that’s it for this entry.  Not much happening, but little changes make it exciting for me.  And I feel good when I’m outside in the sun, you know?  It’s fresh and clean and bright and it makes me smile just being there.  And that has to be good.

About Juuls

50(mumbles) Daughter, Wife, Mother, Frustrated writer, Doer of not much if I can help it. I am NOT a morning person. Short attention spa OOH! Kittens!! I jiggle, therefore I am.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Growing Vegetables, Humour, Life, My Life, Retirement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MY GREEN THUMB – ENTRY 3

  1. Prepper Farm says:

    I’ve never heard of a dog that loved tomatoes, before. Hopefully they survive!

G'day! Don't be shy... say something...

