Let’s Cook Something! – Scotch Eggs

I’m a bit of an experimental cook.  I love savoury foods.  Not much of a dessert maker though.

Anyhoo, I saw this recipe for Scotch eggs.   I’ve never eaten them.   But the one’s that I’m familiar with are English.  Pork mince, crumbed.  Pretty simple.

The recipe I found uses Italian mince (which apparently you can buy overseas already made).  But I found another recipe and winged it to make my own.  Also, they are baked, not fried.  That’s a good thing, right?

I got stuck in and while my eggs were boiling, I started seasoning the pork mince.

  

Easy enough, right?  Well, the recipe I had was for a much larger amount of mince, so I, as I usually do, winged it.  We learn from mistakes, how hard could it be?

Eggs cooked and cooled, I started forming my scotch eggs.  It was pretty simple, I thought and it didn’t take too long to get them formed.

     

Probably took me 20 minutes to make five scotch eggs.

Into the oven for about 30 minutes.  Easy!

Well….. as you can see, they look nothing like the ones from the recipe page.

scotchegg2      

I clearly didn’t have enough mince around the eggs and it split, revealing the egg.  They’re also a little dry, so 30 minutes was too long for the thickness of pork mince I had.  They do however are very tasty!

I wonder if this is why they crumb them?  I’m not deterred.  I will try these again.

About Juuls

50(mumbles) Daughter, Wife, Mother, Frustrated writer, Doer of not much if I can help it. I am NOT a morning person. Short attention spa OOH! Kittens!! I jiggle, therefore I am.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family, Humour, Life, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

G'day! Don't be shy... say something...

