MY GREEN THUMB – Entry 4

Well, things are coming along with my veggie garden beds.

I’m finding that while the plants themselves are growing, they come with some problems.

Blossom Drop – now, I didn’t actually know that what was happening had a name, but it does.  Seems my tomato plants are suffering from something that makes the flowers, dry up and fall off the plant before the fruit has a chance to set… great… It’s caused by a lot of different things.  In my case, I think it was the couple of really hot northerly wind days we had.  Or maybe it’s not, and it just coincided with that.

   All I know is, those are my potential tomatoes falling to the ground!   Stop It!!!

I currently do have 3 plump junior tomatoes growing well – god help me if anything happens to them!  I may have a fit!

My basil is also under siege from caterpillars.  Thick chubby green ones that are going to destroy my plants given enough time.   I have been picking them off and squashing them underfoot, giving them each a piece of my mind, spattered with foul language.  My neighbours probably think I’m nuts.

        take that!

On the plus side, it seems my cucumbers are enjoying their spot in the garden bed!

I’m planning on putting some criss cossed canes in to train them up to keep the fruit off of the ground, and to also save them sprawling across the bed.

        

And it appears I am getting fruit setting on my capsicums and my chillies.  So hoorah for that!

        

All in all my garden is growing pretty well!   I’m going to chop back my basil and parsley and use it for pasta sauce this week.

Happy gardening!

About Juuls

50(mumbles) Daughter, Wife, Mother, Frustrated writer, Doer of not much if I can help it. I am NOT a morning person. Short attention spa OOH! Kittens!! I jiggle, therefore I am.
This entry was posted in Growing Vegetables, Life, My Life, Retirement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

G'day! Don't be shy... say something...

