MY GREEN THUMB – Entry 6

So it’s been a few weeks and things are definitely happening in my garden beds.

Firstly, I’ve worked out that one variety of tomatoes is a total bust.  They kept losing their blossoms and pretty much half died.  I’ve pulled one out and the other is hanging in there by a thread.  The only reason I’ve left it is because the roma tomato plant has grown over the top of it and I don’t want to disturb it.  meh, mulch.

The Roma’s, despite the plants size, have not really produced much fruit.  But it does seem to be improving a little.  Hey, if I’m getting tomatoes off it, it’s a win, right?

   

Moving on to my vine tomatoes.. Holy Guacamole!!  That one plant has exploded!!  And talk about tomatoes!

The fruit I’ve had off both plants so far has been beautifully sweet and tangy.  I’d forgotten what tomatoes are supposed to taste like!

Now, the capsicums.  meh.  Not so good.  The plant has one tiny capsicum, which I may pick off.  The other plant is under the tomato plant now, which has spread, it’s not doing terribly well either.  ’nuff said.

My jalepeno chilli plants are just starting to fruit though.  I have hopes they will pick up.  I love these chillies.

        

And finally, my cucumbers.  Now, I wasn’t sure about growing these.  I really didn’t know too much about them.  But the plants themselves are really starting to grow and I’m going to have to buy some sort of trellising to train them up I think.  My neighbour, who is growing the same variety said they will fruit once the plants get a bit more mature.  I had a peek over the fence at hers and they are three times the size of mine as she planted them a few weeks earlier than I did.  So I’m hopeful.

Considering this is my first attempt at growing in raised beds, I’m pretty happy with how things are going.  Of course, it’s always going to be a learning curve with some things, but I’m keen to learn!

About Juuls

50(mumbles) Daughter, Wife, Mother, Frustrated writer, Doer of not much if I can help it. I am NOT a morning person. Short attention spa OOH! Kittens!! I jiggle, therefore I am.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Growing Vegetables, Life, My Life, Retirement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.